Vasectomy Provider of the Year

2016 – India, Dr. Baljit Kaur

Dr. Baljit Kaur received her medical degree in 1990, and by 1999 was specializing in No Scalpel Vasectomy,  and in 2000 became a trainer for NSV for the Government of India. In 2007 she received a national award in recognition of outstanding contribution in the field of no scalpel vasectomy by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. Her efforts on behalf of family planning, HIV medicine,  male and female sterilization methods, and mobilizing on behalf of no scalpel vasectomy, and her tireless promotion of including men in the conversation about family planning make her a most deserving recipient of this, the first Elliot-Smith award. Thank you, Dr. Kaur, for your great contributions to the promotion of vasectomy with your esteemed colleague, Dr. Kaza. 

2017 – United States, Dr. Doug Stein

This year, the first award goes to a doctor whose commitment to vasectomy is beyond compare. Not only did he give up his practice as a urologist to commit to doing vasectomies (and also vasectomy reversals) of the highest caliber, but he helped start a foundation that travels the world offering free vasectomies to men who otherwise would have no access to these services. His support for World Vasectomy Day has never faltered, and without him, this movement to include men in the conversation about family planning would not exist. We are honored and privileged to be able to present this award to Dr. Doug Stein, who has provided over 45,000 vasectomies in his practice, not including those of his volunteer activities around the world. Thank you, Doug!

2019 – Colombia, Dr. Diana Torres

Dr. Diana Torres, general practitioner of the Pontificia Universidad Javeriana and urologist of the Universidad del Rosario and a graduate in Clinical Sexology from the FUCS, is one of the first female urologists in the country, the first woman to perform vasectomies in the city of Bogotá and the person responsible for bringing World Vasectomy Day to Colombia.

She has been committed to her work at Profamilia for 21 years, in which she has performed nearly 35,000 vasectomies. Dr. Diana is a pioneer in the use of the thermocautery vasectomy technique in the country, which she has perfected while participating in innovative training in Colombia, Mexico and Venezuela. Her leadership, dedication and contribution to male participation in contraception in the country, makes her a recipient of the 2019 Award for Excellence in Vasectomy Practice.

2020 –Mexico, Dr. José Antonio Castro Garduña

WVD Career Award in Excellence

2020 – Haiti, Dr. Maudlin Mesadieu

WVD Award Doctor of the year for commitment in the face of great adversity